Tales from the potting shed (in a hollywood style)

Pink flamingo_NE_2

A big thanks to Nick Egan (film director and top visual artist) for sending us snaps of his garden in Los Angeles. Nick as you know, got us out of a spot of bother with some bikers at a Clash gig in Bury Saint Edmunds many many moons ago (see Cloches over the Westway), designed some well classic record sleeves (The Clash’s “White Man in Hammersmith Palais”, Bow Wow Wow’s “See Jungle!, See Jungle” and Dexy’s “Searching for the Young Soul Rebels”) and also keen on the joys of gardening. Big up the pink flamingo! (pic above)

Tomato_NE_3

Tomato_NE_5

The tomatoes in his garden are looking good and seeing them makes me feel excited about the forthcoming growing season (that’s if the damn rain stops!)

Nice cacti_NE_4

Cacti_NE_6

Top of cacti_NE_1

There’s some nice cacti and succulents too, shame we haven’t got the climate to grow them outside here in the UK though. I remember when I was a wee lad there was a chap up the road from me mum’s in the midlands who grew cacti from seed. He must have been into Zen I reckon, I mean how long does it take for a cactus to flower from a seed? I’m far too impatient for that kind of business (even though I love a bit of tai chi!)

Great stuff Nick, please send us more pics and any good tips for getting decent tomatoes.

2 thoughts on “Tales from the potting shed (in a hollywood style)

  1. Great, vibrant pics from Nick Egan…. Those tomatoes are lovely, and the cacti are beautiful.
    But what I really enjoyed, was the story of how you and Nick met at the Clash / Specials gig way back in ’78.

    • Bonkers isn’t it! It was only when I found that tape in me loft looking for fleece for the plants that I remembered!
      Love that Tunguska tune on your show the other week.

Leave a Reply

