Where were you in 2012?

Last week I went to “Someday All the Adults Will Die!” (Punk Graphics 1971-1984), an exhibition and fanzine discussion at The Hayward Gallery here in London. I’ve always been interested in fanzines since doing one years ago, so thought I’d give it a go. Ta to Marc for the tip off.

The discussion featured amongst others, Tony D from Ripped and Torn/Kill Your Pet Puppy fanzine and Gee Vaucher, creator of the bonkers graphics for the punk band Crass. Funnily enough I stayed off the beer on the night as I usually get a bit contrary at these events and give it all “Punk wasn’t about nostalgia” etc etc (yawn!).

One of the highlights of the discussion was me and my mate (nice one Lee!) getting told off by the girl in front of us for whispering a couple of times through the talk. So much for Punk being about freedom, obviously not! Later on going around the exhibition I got a bit worked up as it featured a copy of Ripped and Torn 17 (All images on this post from that issue). “I’m in that, I’m in that” I excitedly said to my mate. Good job I didn’t have a drink beforehand as I wouldn’t been happy until I had got the staff to unscrew the Perspex panel there and then and take the fanzine down to show to my friend. Good job I didn’t, as looking at that Ripped and Torn again this morning I found the mention, very very small at the back of it in biro (below).

Hardly stuff to get worked up about.

But no whispering at punk discussions though!

Gardening’s not dead!

4 thoughts on “Where were you in 2012?

Leave a Reply

