Oi! Get orfa me barra!

Old Bob Flowerdew was right, as soon as you produce some decent compost you can’t get enough of the blooming stuff! I’ve been helping myself to my second attempt of a compost heap for a good while now but today I filled up two barrow’s worth to mix in with some soil which I put in the second raised bed made with the scaffolding boards obtained free from our “Portuguese man with a van”. Owt for nowt for definite! If you can be bothered to collect up all your kitchen waste, turn it every now and again and wait a few months, it’s well worth doing for some top quality compost!

Great weather today so did a couple of hours, weeded around the salad bed and as it was root day, sowed some Carrots, Beetroot and Parsnip. If the weather keeps up I’ll do more tidying up and “tipping around with a hoe” tomorrow.

I’ve moved the portable cold frame (aka the old window frame I found in the street which stands on some old bricks from a skip) over a couple of Courgette and Squash seedlings to give them some protection and a bit of a head start.

I’m taking a risk with the Potatoes I moved the cold frame from as there’s still a good risk of frost, but I’ve covered them tonight with some horticultural fleece I’ve had kicking around since last year. Fingers crossed it won’t get too cold.

And I tell you what, I’m missing that “gloves in a bottle” stuff too!

This week’s post was written while listening to Friday’s Echo Beach on WLUW-FM Chicago with a great Pressure Sounds mix. http://archive.org/details/EchoBeachBroadcast05-11-12

4 thoughts on “Oi! Get orfa me barra!

    • Of course! I’ve done Echo Chamber twice since listening live on Wednesday so I thought I’d give Terry a look in! I have to be fair (ha ha). Cheers for that tho! Did you know a DJ on BBC Radio 6, Gideon Coe is doing a show on the next bank holiday here featuring garden related tunes from his garden shed. Don’t know how much reggae will be on it tho…

    • Definitely! If I do the odd bit in the garden without my gloves I have to scrub like crazy to get any soil off and then I’m still left with hands like a motor mechanic who’s been tinkering about under a car for 8 hours!

Leave a Reply

