Radio Dada and it goes something like this…

A big cheers to Will for telling us about the programme last night on BBC 6 Music with Terry Farley talking and selecting records with Andrew Weatherall as well as giving a potted history of London’s clubland. Some great tunes and some great stories and it’s up on the web for six more days if you fancy it.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01g9cdg

All the talk about youth cults and fanzines on the show brought me back to the time I produced my first fanzine many many moons ago. Here’s an excerpt from it; a letter I wrote to the local paper complaining about the latest youth cult at that time. I was appalled!

4 thoughts on “Radio Dada and it goes something like this…

    • Glad you liked that! You could send any old tripe to the Coventry Telegraph and they’d print it! The reason I sent the letter was to get my own back on them. They used to run something called
      Uncle Tony’s Club where, when you were a kid on your birthday they’d print your name in the paper. My mum had written in when I was a nipper. The trouble was, they would continue to do it until you were 16. It was a bit of a shamer as I was a Punk at the time, going to clubs and pubs and then in the local paper on a Saturday night they print “Happy 16th Birthday, Peter Polanyk from Coundon, Coventry Love Uncle Tony XXX”. Not very good for the reputation and not very punk!

Leave a Reply

